A Seacoast in Bohemia


Sensored!
October 9, 2007, 7:12 pm
Filed under: Class Notes

No, the title isn’t misspelled. 

Last week I put proximity sensors all around the island to see where visitors go.  There are twenty of them, carefully laid out and sized to avoid overlaps.  The sensors are the Freebie version of Hackshaven Harford’s splendid data collection system, which he offers at Maya Realities.  

sensor-map.JPG

The commercial version offers a huge amount of information to sim owners, but even the simple sampling I can do with the freebie version is making a data junkie out of me.    Basically it tells me how many unique visitors have wandered into the range of a sensor and how long they stayed there.  This gives me some idea of how much different parts of the island hold a visitor’s attention. 

It doesn’t tell me what time who went where, but it will give me readouts for the previous hour, day or week, so I can track visits just by collecting data periodically and pasting it into a spreadsheet.   So what have I inferred so far?

1.  People seem to like the Cattery.  The job of the cats is to demonstrate an X linked trait, so each of the parental combinations produces a different progeny set when clicked.  They will also meow at you.  One of my favorite computer simulations for genetics is Judith Kinnear’s CatLab.   The Cattery is my homage to Dr. Kinnear, who is now Vice Chancellor at Massey university in New Zealand.   

2.  However, near the Cattery is a sign that advertises NPR’s Science Friday, which has been broadcasting for the last few weeks from the Science School, my neighbor to the south.  The sign contains a landmark to the Science School Science Friday site and a link out to the Science Friday web site.   Sci Fri at the Sci School is attracting a lot of visitors, so I may be seeing some fallout from that terrific show.  Go Ira!

2.  The numbers of people in various parts of the tower seem to be similar, so people who get to the tower may actually visit all or most of its 20 odd floors! 

3.  The dihybrid test cross is seeing a lot of action this week.   This makes me happy, because my students are working on a linkage assignment there, and are actually spending a lot of time on the site.   YAY!

4.  The big cell on the Terrace gets a lot of attention.  I think people like to pop in and out of it.  I find it sort of energizing myself to get in there and hang out with the mitochondria. 

4.  Nobody loves my giant ribosomes.  I guess this means I need to finish the protein synthesis game!  Maybe the class would like to take this on as a project. 

Now that the sensors are laid out, I will report periodically on what seems to be attracting visitors. 

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

